clarifying the whole violence and passion in music thing

Pt 2.

Thought I should clarify the whole musical themes/lyrics/etc about violence and lust a bit more as I was jotting down the above in a hurry so I could get to bed. That and it’s so much fun to not have a giant pile of chores to divvy up across the next week and just chillax in front of my computer for a good two to four hours image-viewing and navel-gazing like the good ol’ days. =)

I’m not judging anyone elses’ tastes when I say the likes of “anime is cringe”, only how I personally feel about such things. Like when that housekeeper came over last week, I felt the need to take down and hide those posters of Rin and Alicia and to hide my Umi figma, etc. That was the straw that broke the camel’s back: even if it’s silly of me, if I’m that embarrassed of something, I need to get rid of it. Best for Right/Perfect Speech, too.

As for the whole violence and passions thing, it’s an entirely arbitrary “gut-check” thing with little to not logic behind the decision whatsoever. Some things are no-brainers, like if the band is named Bloodbath or Gorerotted, or a song’s named Chainsaw Gutsfuck or Respect the Fist… Bitch containing the following respective lyrics:

Chainsaw in my bleeding hands
As I start to cut you in two
Your guts are steaming out
And I just love the sight!

Maggots crawling in her cunt
I just love to lick that shit
Bury you in a slimy grave
You will rot forever there!

I blitz attack I lose control
Violence the only response I know
Aesthetic features are transformed
Blow by blow her face deformed

Shitloads of her shit
Is all I fuckin get
Every fucking day
Payback’s here today’s the day

Yeah duh that’s going, going, gone!!

But other stuff that’s more edge-case, like the album Hammerheart by Bathory, even if I love songs like Shores In Flames it’s mostly glorifying Viking raids from the sea, and so I don’t need that. Most the rest of the album is similarly “it’s sooo cool to rape and pillage!” so meh. The songs that aren’t like that I don’t like enough to get and keep Hammerheart around. But Nordland I I felt was good enough to let that stuff slide.

On the other side of the musical coin:

As per listening to singers because she has a hot voice like most the J-Pop I like, well… look, there’s no rhyme or reason why some singers’ voices (because of my massive oral-fixation / mouth-kink [TMI I know =P ]) tickle my pickle while others don’t. For example, the following have sexy and/or cute voices (and often look delicious, too) to me:

01 yoko.jpg

02 mimori.jpg

03 maho.jpg

04 yui.jpg

And the following, instead, sound/look “good”, “cool”, “classy”, and such:

05 kalafina.jpg

06 nana.jpg

07 maaya.jpg

08 aoi

Why is this so? Your guess is as good as mine! Nobody chooses what they’re into, boner wants what boner wants, and there’s nothing you can do about it except suppress or indulge.

As for what does or does not induce cringe, is also up for grabs. For example, for some reason, I wouldn’t be embarrassed at a coworker coming over for the first time finding the following jewel case atop my stereo:

09 band-maid.jpg

But, despite the fact I like all these albums roughly the same (for different reasons), this I would feel the need to hide in my sock drawer before s/he came over while making sure none of its songs could be shuffled to in Winamp:

10 sphere.jpg

11 prayer.png

. . . okay fine, that’s easy to figure out!

Chalk it all up to being overly self-conscious, mindful of others’ opinions, desire to not be such a “weirdo” and a “loser” anymore (being autistic/asperger’s/shaken-baby-syndrome/antisocial-personality-disorder/introverted/whatever the hell my mental illness is that could finally explain and therefore treat my big batch of atypicalities in thought, mood, and behavior resulting in many a great difficulty throughout my life making for being sentenced to a lifetime of social retardation/isolation is suffering and I want out), and so on. Might sound ridiculous to care so much, but it is what it is and I’m stuck with it. All I can do is compensate, perform damage-control, and route around all this crap by whatever arbitrary and desperate means I can come up with and latch on to at that time. (Like suddenly adopting Buddhism whole-hog as my self-therapy & pseudo-religion/way-of-life!)

Plus, again, it helps train my detachment from things I like, so as to not fall into the common geek trap of whatever I’m into becoming my core identity, then waging war against those who like what I don’t like and so on. It is just so much utter childishness to be into Dungeons & Dragons: 4th EditionThe Elder Scrolls III: MorrowindLimbonic Art, and/or Love Live!; then hating on or feeling superior to those who are instead into 3.x/PathfinderTES V: SkyrimSystem Of A Down, and/or Dragon Ball Z; y’know?

And who, really, wants to be That Guy?!

no grills allowed.jpg

Pt 4.

Author: ma'habocath

ma'habocath knows some, tells much. ma'habocath knows few things others do. This one is a live-alone, full-time burger-flipper with an odd mind and too much to say. ma'hab always tries the best ma'hab can to keep up: • Chores • Bodybuilding and other health-nuttery • Japanese language studies • Culinary experimentation (see “other health-nuttery”) • Exploration of newfound spiritual territory • Exploration of my Self • Figuring out how to socialize well enough, mostly face-to-face • Backlogs: books, heavy metal, anime • Blogging, chatting, texting, and talking to whomever will listen about all of the above

2 thoughts on “clarifying the whole violence and passion in music thing”

Leave a Reply

