copied from ma’hab’s progress diary on sweat4health

Progress report: not good.

• Only exercise I’ve been doing is daily rotisseries (even if I’m finally back up to 25-lb crunches and 10-lb side-planks), and every 2-4 days pushups or pullups mostly because my lower-back is either already sore or on the verge of tweaking and I’m afraid of doing anything to risk it. So basically only my legs (biking: >=40 mile/wk @ 2-4 hr/wk) and waist are getting any real work; forever stick-arms. 😦

• Been doing poorly in my Japanese studies: barely understand even basic grammar, and keep screwing up in my WaniKani studies.

• Most “weekends” after immediately-necessary chores like shopping, batch-cooking, and dishes I’m lazing about mindlessly browsing image boards and/or blogging, because after the work-week and studying and chores I’m absolutely beat and almost never get around to my To-Do list I’d been writing down for that and previous weeks. (eg “make a video/picture/blog-post I’ve had an idea for for some time despite the fact that no one but me is really gonna care”, “weather’s good, finally time to self-teach riding a two-wheeler”, “since I’m struggling with Tae Kim, find some other means of self-teaching grammar or at least supplement with something or other for those things I’m struggling to understand like the differences between the particles Wa and Ga, and i-adjectives vs na-adjectives”, “vacuum up all the popcorn that’s spilled around my computer desk”, “instead of continuing to merely read, finally figure out how to start applying some of my learnings of Buddhism/Taoism/etc so I can try to reduce feeling like a time-wasting sadsack all the time”, and so on)

I mentioned elsewhere* I’ve been feeling mentally burnt-out for a while now, so I’m thinking maybe it’s time to take a good several week vacation from something. Only “optional” thing I can think to take a break from is studying Japanese beyond the basics like keeping up with WaniKani reviews on work days. (As the only other thing to do on breaks is browse and post here, that and I’m paying $100/yr for WK so you better believe I’m getting my money’s worth!) The fact that I keep finding myself choosing to do dishes or mop the kitchen floor just to avoid studying is a good indicator I need to walk away for a good long while. And I can’t exactly take a break from all the chores involved in being a live-alone wagie…

Maybe I need to do what I’ve been feeling an “itch” for for about a month now and play Morrowind after years of not “letting myself ‘regress’”. Perhaps something “active” (rather than passive like mindless blogging/posting; my back hurts and it’s too damned cold for any more exercise than I already am just getting to and from work!) like once again losing myself in the isle of Vvardenfell for 100-300 hours will do well to ‘recharge’ my mental faculties!

*

another S4H member wrote in the “Share Your Small Victories!” thread:

These small victories add up 🙂

As my grandpa said, “Watch your pennies and your dollars will take care of themselves.”

Today’s (March 3rd) small victory… uh… I chose not to do pushups or anything else when my lower-back was ‘complaining’ a bit during my daily morning rotisserie? Oh wait, when my stupid coffee maker spilled a bunch over the counter I used that as an excuse to finally getting around to soap-scrubbing down my whole kitchen counter after almost a month of cooking crud had accumulated. Also did the dishes that had been piling up the past four days, yay!! Didn’t have time to study Japanese before I had to go to work, though. Ah well, my brain has been feeling fried and burnt-out for the past few weeks anyway, maybe I need a break from studying and other mind-intensive tasks, and to pick up my video game controller for the first time in years and ‘recharge’ for a good few weeks… [/blogging] [/whining]

Author: ma'habocath

ma'habocath knows some, tells much. ma'habocath knows few things others do. This one is a live-alone, full-time burger-flipper with an odd mind and too much to say. ma'hab always tries the best ma'hab can to keep up: • Chores • Bodybuilding and other health-nuttery • Japanese language studies • Culinary experimentation (see “other health-nuttery”) • Exploration of newfound spiritual territory • Exploration of my Self • Figuring out how to socialize well enough, mostly face-to-face • Backlogs: books, heavy metal, anime • Blogging, chatting, texting, and talking to whomever will listen about all of the above

One thought on “copied from ma’hab’s progress diary on sweat4health”

Leave a Reply

