the “hunger-knock”: yet another reason HFL is hardmode for ma’habocath

HFL = Health & Fitness Lifestyle.

(copy-pasted from S4H so no “khajiitification“)

I was out of biking for about a week and half so I didn’t have this issue much, though I still needed to eat roughly the same amount else I’d get hungry (but not enough to “knock” me). But two days ago I got my bike back and with it the every 1-3 day I deal with the “hunger knock”:

Out of nowhere, usually at work, I feel a “click” in my head and … the best way I can think to explain what happens to me is to go here and set the sliders like the following image (on that page, click Shepard Down and drag the one all the way up), the longer you listen the more you’ll get what goes on in my head during a “hunger knock”:

shepard-down

It’s just like that: if I don’t get to it quick enough, everything is affected: every aspect of my mood and energy level goes down-down-down, I’m even physically affected (I become more sluggish and clumsy, etc), and eventually I am so weak and dizzy can hardly think straight or form coherent sentences like there’s an ever-tightening vice squeezing my brain that’s so much pressure it feels like my eyeballs are gonna pop out my sockets at any moment.

The only way I’ve found to “treat” this is to get calories in me, and quickly: chug 2-4 glasses of skim milk, eat bread, meat, whatever I can get my hands on and the more calorie-dense the better. Once I do this (at least 300 calories, more like 500-700 to be sure) I feel better within 10-30 seconds. Sometimes I still feel crappy, which just means I haven’t eaten enough.

And the only way I know to prevent this from happening in the first place is to gorge myself with whatever food (and it has to be food, I’ve tried with water and milk to no success in prevention) until my stomach hurts so I can rest assured for at least the next 4 hours I won’t get hit by a sudden lack-of-calories migraine — which I can feel is different than any regular old headache, also distinct from a too-much-caffeine headache, I-am-irritated headache, studying-too-much headache, not-enough-sleep headache (one with which I’m all too familiar), etc.

I attribute this to the afterburner effect sucking my energy level dry:

Which is why I always try to shovel a bunch of calorie-dense food down my throat every time I exercise.

This is also why I’ve found it next to impossible to lose any more fat without losing my sanity in the process: if I eat less than 3000-5000 calories a day I can barely function thanks to frequent, debilitating hunger-knocks. This is so if or if I do not cardio that day, usually.

I guess this is just one of the things I have to accept and deal with in order to not balloon back up to morbid obesity and die of a heart attack or stroke before 50 (or at least not spend the next four or six decades popping >10 pills every morning and evening just to barely-survive and feeling weak, miserable, and hopelessly entrapped by my own body all the while, as I was well on my way towards all my life until about 1-2 years ago; how did my mom do it? if I had to deal with half of what she did I would’ve lost it and leapt in front of a train before 30 rather than make it around the half-century mark before multiple cancers took that Scottish warmaiden down; yeah, just one by itself wasn’t enough to beat that tough mother!)… like having 6-10 fewer hours a week to do more productive or enjoyable things than cooking and exercising, or enjoying food more than once or twice a month… gotta do what ya gotta do! Nothing to do but accept I must give 10x the time & effort to get 10% the results of “everybody else”, in fitness and just about everything else in life. [/whine]

Author: ma'habocath

ma'habocath knows some, tells much. ma'habocath knows few things others do. This one is a live-alone, full-time burger-flipper with an odd mind and too much to say. ma'hab always tries the best ma'hab can to keep up: • Chores • Bodybuilding and other health-nuttery • Japanese language studies • Culinary experimentation (see “other health-nuttery”) • Exploration of newfound spiritual territory • Exploration of my Self • Figuring out how to socialize well enough, mostly face-to-face • Backlogs: books, heavy metal, anime • Blogging, chatting, texting, and talking to whomever will listen about all of the above

1 thought on “the “hunger-knock”: yet another reason HFL is hardmode for ma’habocath”

Leave a Reply

